Software visualization is a broad research area encompassing concepts, methods, tools, and techniques that assist in a range of software engineering and software development activities. Covered aspects include the development and evaluation of approaches for visually analyzing software and software systems, including their structure, execution behavior, and evolution.

The VISSOFT IEEE Working Conference on Software Visualization continues the history of the ACM SOFTVIS Symposium on Software Visualization and the IEEE VISSOFT International Workshop on Visualizing Software for Understanding and Analysis. The conference focuses on visualization techniques that target aspects of software maintenance and evolution, program comprehension, reverse engineering, and reengineering, i.e., how visualization helps professionals to understand, analyze, test and evolve software. We aim to gather tool developers, experts, users, and researchers from software engineering, information visualization, computer graphics, and human-computer interaction to discuss theoretical foundations, algorithms, techniques, tools, and applications related to software visualization. We seek technical papers, empirical studies, applications, or case studies and provide a platform for presenting novel research ideas and tools.


Charter of the IEEE VISSOFT is available online. It was modified for the last time on September 23, 2016.

Next Conference

VISSOFT 2019 will be held in Cleveland, OH, USA.

Previous Editions

The Working Conference on Software Visualization VISSOFT was preceded by six editions of the VISSOFT workshop, and five editions of SOFTVIS, as follows:

IEEE Working Conference on Software Visualization (VISSOFT)

IEEE International Workshops on Visualizing Software for Understanding and Analysis (VISSOFT)

ACM Symposia on Software Visualization (SOFTVIS)

Steering Committee

Craig Anslow
Since 2015
Victoria University of Wellington,
New Zealand

Ivan Beschastnikh
Since 2017
University of British Columbia,

Fabian Beck
Since 2015
University of Duisburg-Essen,

Andrea Mocci
Since 2017
Università della Svizzera italiana,

Alexandre Bergel (chair)
Since 2015
University of Chile,

Bonita Sharif
Since 2017
University of Nebraska -- Lincoln,

Past Steering Committee Members

Best Paper Awards

Most Influent Paper Awards (MIP)


This webpage is maintained by Alexandre Bergel, Milton Mamani, and Juan Pablo Sandoval. This page was updated for the last time on October 23, 2018.

It is gracefully hosted by the Department of Computer Science, University of Chile.

Restricted Access

We keep sensitive data about the VISSOFT series conference on GitHub. Access to these documents is restricted.